A Better Way to Enjoy Pizza

March 9, 2008 at 4:59 am 3 comments

Steph over at Noshtopia has come up with some great ways to make pizza a healthier dining option. She offers seven tips you can use to improve your next dough fest, including ordering thin crust rather than thick or stuffed and loading up on veggie versus high-calorie meat toppings.

Another way to troubleshoot your slice o’ pizza pie is to make it yourself. With pre-made whole wheat dough available from Trader Joe’s or Whole Foods, pre-sliced veggies, and shredded low-fat cheese, you can make your own in a flash, tailoring it to the cravings you have at the moment.

I decided to get a bit crazy and create my own funky pizza. Surprisingly enough, it didn’t come out too badly.  Here’s the recipe.

pizza2008-03-07.jpg Fresh Tomato & French Onion Whole-Wheat Pizza

  • 1 bag Trader Joe’s Almost Whole Wheat Pizza Dough
  • 1 cup Hunts Garlic & Herb Pasta Sauce
  • 8 wedges (1 full package) Laughing Cow Light French Onion Cheese
  • Slices of fresh tomato
  • Slices of fresh onion

Directions

  • Preheat oven to 400 degrees.
  • Spray pizza pan with olive oil spray.
  • Press whole-wheat dough into pan.
  • Spread pasta sauce over dough.
  • Break cheese wedges into small chunks and place evenly over dough and sauce.
  • Place tomato and onion slices evenly over cheese.
  • Bake for 15 minutes or until done

I need to refine this recipe further.  It tasted great, but it could have been better.  I need to spread the cheese out more, maybe top it with some parmesan, too.  I might try quickly sauteeing the onions ahead of time.  And, I think it needs additional seasoning as well.  I’ll post an update once I’ve gotten the final tweaks down.

For some other interesting pie ideas, check out Aprovechar’s Pizza & Movie Nights (and one failed experiment) recipes.

Entry filed under: clean eating, food review, recipes. Tags: , .

Is Worrying about my Weight Harmful to my Health? Want to Improve Your Mental Health? Start a Blog!

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Sally Parrott Ashbrook  |  March 11, 2008 at 1:39 am

    Thanks for the shout out. We do love our pizza & movie nights—and trying out new ways of making tasty pizza-like dishes.

    My husband and I were just looking at your ‘before’ and ‘after’ photos. Wow! You seriously don’t even look like the same woman—I don’t think I would have paired the photos up. You look fantastic.

    Reply
  • […] things deliberately and not multi-tasking. Twice I’ve gotten so enthusiastic about making my Fresh Tomato and French Onion Whole-Wheat Pizza that I’ve rushed through it, ending up with a disappointing result. Why? I haven’t given it my […]

    Reply
  • 3. Shrimp & Scallop Three Cheese Pizza « Sassy Sexy Shapely  |  April 17, 2008 at 12:52 am

    […] 17, 2008 I’ve been experimenting with various whole wheat crust pizzas.  Up to now, I’ve only used Trader Joe’s refrigerated Almost Whole Wheat Pizza Dough.  It’s been okay.  The flavor is good, but it’s difficult to get it as flat and even […]

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Categories


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

