Active Hair Coloring?

March 6, 2010 at 5:21 am Leave a comment

We’ve all heard of active sitting: where you incorporate some sort of physical movement, no matter how small, into your sedentary job or homelife.  I do it myself, by sitting on a stability ball as my office chair.  I also do it by performing various arm movements during the day, or sometimes using my FLOW software, which prompts me to do exercises at my desk every hour or so.

But, tonight: a first!  Active Hair Coloring!  I ate too much today and wanted to get more cardio in to compensate, at least a little.  I also needed to color my hair.  I’m a home hair colorer, so the ideal solution was easy to find.  While I was waiting for my hair color to process, I did 30 minutes on the Gazelle.  Voila… active hair coloring!  I was so pleased with myself for coming up with it.  I love combining necessary or fun activities with fitness.  It makes me feel efficient, and it makes onerous tasks seem more purposeful and worthy.

It also turns potentially “risky” situations into opportunities for success.  For example, tomorrow morning, my husband and I are going to a pancake breakfast at the airport hangar.

  • We are pedaling our bicycles to and from the airport, which means we’ll get in at least a six-mile ride.  🙂
  • I normally dread being confronted with the white-flour pancakes, syrup and sausage they serve.  The food is always yummy, but it’s got no redeeming nutritive value.  This time, along with getting exercise by biking back and forth, I’m also bringing PB&J pancake batter, made with white whole wheat flour, Smart Balance Light Buttery Spread, Smart Balance Omega 3 Peanut Butter, and unsweetened vanilla almond milk.  The topping will be reduced-sugar strawberry jam.  It’s fun… and healthy!
  • Plus, I’ll be too busy cooking to have much time to eat.

Perfect!!

Entry filed under: burn more calories, clean eating, coping strategies, tips & techniques.

Work Break Workouts Microbes and hormones and chemicals… Oh My!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Categories


