Muddy Buddy 2010

March 24, 2010 at 1:47 pm Leave a comment

Earlier this month, I did something unprecedented: I competed in two athletic events in less than a week. Me! The girl who was only ever picked to be anchor for tug-o-war!!

The first was the Muddy Buddy Race.  Teams of two traverse a 6-7 mile off-road course and 5 obstacles.  At the start of the race, one team member runs and one rides the bike. At the 1st obstacle, the rider drops the bike, completes the obstacle, and begins running. The runner arrives, completes the obstacle, finds their bike and begin riding. Teams continue leapfrogging each other through the entire course. At the end of the race, racers crawl through the infamous Mud Pit crossing the finish line together as official “Muddy Buddies”!

It was one of the most fun and exhilarating things I’ve ever done, and I’m still in awe of myself for finding out about it, finding a partner, and doing it… all within the space of three weeks.  Something brand new and daunting… but I didn’t let that hold me back.  I just did it!  I’ve become my own Nike commercial!! LOL 🙂

   

   

Entry filed under: about me, burn more calories, exercise equipment, morale boosters, self image.

Microbes and hormones and chemicals… Oh My! Scale the Strat 2010

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Categories


