Scale the Strat 2010

March 24, 2010 at 1:57 pm 1 comment

In less than a week after doing the Muddy Buddy Race, I competed in Scale the Strat 2010.  This is a charity event, a fundraiser for the American Lung Association, so I had a raise a minimum of $250… and climb 108 floors or 1,455 stairs.  It was the ultimate validating event for someone who climbs stairs as part of her regular workout regimen.  My concern was that I didn’t know how I’d do climbing continuously.  I only have 6 floors in my building, so I always have some built-in recovery time when I come down.  The Strat doesn’t afford that luxury.  It’s all the way straight up.  I was even more daunted when I learned I couldn’t listen to music. 

When the day came, I did it in 17:43 minutes, using the “turtle method”: slow and steady with no jogging or two-at-a-time stairs.  I was BEYOND proud of myself.  It was such a tremendous accomplishment, another huge first for me.  I am already looking forward to next year.  🙂

    

Entry filed under: burn more calories, exercise equipment, health, inspiring others, morale boosters.

Muddy Buddy 2010 A colorific food find!

1 Comment Add your own

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Recent Posts

Categories


